Indianola looks to reload this fall

Des Moines Register | Blair Schilling

Head coach: Eric Kluver, 13th season

2015 record: 5-5 overall, 2-3 in district play

Senior regulars lost from last year’s team: Jack Jensen, QB, 1,365 yards passing, first-team All-District, team offensive co-MVP, Ross Adamson, 178 yards receiving, second-team All-District, Jalen Hunter, Brenton Scharlau, DeShawn Welch, Blake Upchurch, 609 yards receiving, first-team All-District, team offensive co-MVP, Jackson Bishop, first-team All-District, team defensive MVP, Schaefer Orwig, Scooter Hohneke, Isaiah Strong, 961 yards rushing, second-team All-District, Jimmy Aiello, 87 tackles, first-team All-District, Karl Kaale, Joe VanTreeck, Tanner Howard, Nathan Woosley, second-team All-District, Anthony Pottebaum, Brock VanLoon, second-team All-District, Quinn Jacobsen, Reese Howard.

Top returning players: Senior Chris Brandt, K, senior Mitch Cross, OL, senior Brayden Elbert, DE/TE, senior Chris Ewoldsen, WR/DB, senior Kade Hartung, WR/DB, senior Riley Hildreth, LB/RB, senior Kade Kolarik, RB, senior Eagan Lickiss, OL/DL, senior Lucas Menke, LB/WR, senior Dan Mindermann, OL/DL, senior Matt Riley, RB/LB, senior Jonny Scott, DB, senior Cale Smith, DB/WR, senior Shayne Stratton, DB/RB, senor Matt Swolley, OL/DL.

New prospects: Senior Rick Eatwell, DB, junior Reece Bowlin, OL, Chase Davison, LB, junior Spencer Gavin, OL/DL, junior Joe Jensen, QB, junior Cole Scott, WR, junior Berkley Sandquist, DL, junior Brendan Sher, WR/DB, junior Sean Tormey, LB/RB, junior Alex Webb, OL/DL, junior Sam Wolff, OL/DL, sophomore Kolby Kolarik, RB, sophomore Collin Clavell, TE/LB, sophomore Dylan Hildreth, RB.

Schedule: Aug. 26 vs. Norwalk; Sept. 2 at Ottumwa; Sept. 9 vs. Hoover; Sept. 16 vs. Ankeny; Sept. 23 at Southeast Polk; Sept. 30 vs. Marshalltown (Homecoming); Oct. 7 vs. WDM Valley; Oct 14 at Fort Dodge; Oct. 21 at Newton (All games start at 7:30 p.m.).

The Indianola football team will be looking to reload this fall as newcomers and returning players try to fill the void left by 19 departed regular contributors.

Four returning starters will be at the forefront in their senior campaigns for the team. Place-kicker Chris Brandt is back after leading the Indians in scoring in 2015 with 58 points. Brandt made nine of 14 field goal attempts last year.

Running back Kade Kolarik returns after racking up 448 yards as a junior. Linemen Eagan Lickiss and Dan Mindermann will be back in the trenches for the squad.

Among the most visible newcomers to the varsity ranks will be junior Joe Jensen, who is expected to take over the quarterbacking reins previously controlled by his older brother, Jack Jensen, who graduated. Joe Jensen quarterbacked the sophomore squad last fall.

“We’re relying heavily on guys who haven’t played varsity football yet,” Indianola coach Eric Kluver said. “Our success will be determined by how well those younger players adapt to varsity football and how they come along.”

Indianola is set for competition this season and next in Class 4A, District 4 and will face district opposition from Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Newton, Southeast Polk and perennial state-tournament contender West Des Moines Valley. The Tigers won a state title in 2011 and have advanced to at least the state quarterfinals each of the past five seasons.

Indianola opens the season with non-district play on Friday, Aug. 26, at home against Norwalk.